Featured Interview with Horror Author, Nathan Robinson

author-pic-scaryHorror author Nathan Robinson lives in Scunthorpe with his darling six year old twin boys and his patient wife/editor. So far he’s had numerous short stories published bywww.spinetinglers.co.uk, Rainstorm Press, Knight Watch Press, Pseudopod, The Horror Zine, The Sinister Horror Company, Static Movement, Splatterpunk Zine and many more.

He writes best in the dead of night or travelling at 77mph.

He is a regular reviewer for www.snakebitehorror.co.uk and Splatterpunk Zine, which he loves because he gets free books. He likes free books. His first novel “Starers” was released by Severed Press to rave reviews. This was followed by his short story collection “Devil Let Me Go”, and the novellas “Ketchup with Everything” and “Midway.”

TWITTER

FACEBOOK

AMAZON



devil-let-go-paper-cover-final111Please tell us your name and a little bit about yourself:

I’m Nathan Robinson, I’m father of two from Scunthorpe, England and I write horror fiction.

How many books have you written?

Two novels, two novellas and one short story collection, plus I’ve got stories in about 30 different anthologies, all available on amazon.

If you have been published, did you self-publish or use traditional publishing?  Why?  If you have not been published yet, what are your plans for the future?

My first novel “Starers” was picked up by Severed Press and I’ve since published twice more with them. I self published my short story collection “Devil Let Me Go” when I got the rights back to all of the stories as I fancied having a go at producing my own book from scratch; artwork, formatting, everything. So I did. It was hard work.

How old were you when you started writing?  When did you know you wanted to be an author?

I’ve always written little shorts and ideas that I never did anything with. When my wife and I found out that we were having twins, I decided if I ever was going to be a writer, then it would be best before the children arrived and sucked all of my time. I wrote a story about zombie chickens (write what you know, I used to work in a chicken factory), sent it off and won first prize and £100. I’ve not looked back.

author-picWhat would you say motivates you to keep writing?

Insanity.

Who are some of your favorite authors?  What are you currently reading (or what is the last book you read)?

As a youth it was Roald Dahl, Guy N Smith and Peter Tremayne. I’m slowing working my way through Stephen King’s back catalogue, but I mostly read indie authors with the reviews I do for www.snakebitehorror.co.uk, but I like getting recommendations from people and discovers random books in charity shops.

What is your preferred reading method?  (i.e., Kindle, Nook, paperback, hardback, etc.)  Why?

Paperbacks. Light, cheap and portable. I have a kindle but I never use it.

Do you “always read” or do you take breaks between reading books? 

I’ve always got a couple of books on the go. One in my work bag, one on the bedside table and an audiobook on my phone. I don’t like to stop.

How many books would you say you read in a year?  How many at any one time?

I read 64 books last year, including 340 hours of audiobooks (if that counts?) Not including books I read with my kids, which would be about 200ish

What is the title of your current work in progress of the most recent manuscript you’ve completed?

I’ve just completed my second novel “Caldera” which is Pirates vs Dinosaurs.

What is your novel’s genre?  Would you say there is a sub-genre?  What makes yours different than other books in the same genre?

Probably action thriller. There’s a lot of dinosaurs novels out there, but mine has a moral aspect as the reader has to question as to who the bad guys really are.

midwayWhat inspired the current or most recent story you’ve completed?

My publisher was asking for sea monster/Kaiju/dinosaur stories. I gave them Midway which is my take on the sea monster genre, but then they asked for another. I asked my six year old son that I was going to write a story about dinosaurs. His response “put some pirates in it.” So I did.

What is your target audience’s age, gender, etc.?

I write stories that I’d enjoy. If other people enjoy them, that’s their fault. I’ve sold books to old grannies and to nine year old girls who came back for more. I don’t have a target demographic, although I wrongly assumed that it would geeky males like myself who’d be buying my books. How wrong was I!

Do you want to tell us a little bit about your story?

A gang of Somalian pirates rob an ocean liner, but the heist goes horribly wrong and they’re forced to take refuge on a seemingly abandoned volcano. But they’re not alone.

How often do you write?

I try to write every day. I take my laptop to work and write in the passenger seat when we’re between jobs.

Approximately how many words do you write at each sitting?

Anything from nothing to 2000 words. Depends if the mental juices are flowing or not.

Do you do your own editing or send it to someone else?

I edit as much as I can, then send it to beta readers to pick apart.

What is your method of writing?  (i.e., Do you write the entire manuscript, then go back and make changes?  Do you plan chapters as you go along or write the story then go back and add chapters?  Do you re-read as you go along or after you are done with the first draft?)

Sometimes I’ll just fire off with nothing aside from a seed on a idea. But usually I’ll have a vague plan and a few notes. I’ll get so far then I’ll hop back and forth editing as much as I can as I go along in order to steer the story where I want it to go. Most of it is in my head though.

Do you have a muse?  If so, please elaborate. If not, what inspires you?

My children are a big inspiration to me, as losing them is an obvious fear of mine. But everyday people and news stories are all the inspiration any writer needs.

How long does it take you to write a full manuscript?

Hopefully less than a year from start to finish, but the first draft of a short story can be knocked out in a week.

How do you come up with your character names and geographic location / business names?

I just collect interesting names. It’s as easy as that. I come across a lot of names on my travels, so I write them down.

Do you have any “must haves” to help you write?  (i.e., a full cup of coffee, a view of the ocean, etc.)

Coffee helps. I do the majority of my writing in my works van, whilst sat in the passenger seat. The view is always changing. It’s never boring. Sometimes I listen to music. Phillip Glass does some nice ambient music. I enjoy Metamorphosis by him.

Does your real life ever neglected because of your writing?  If so, how do you feel about that?

That’s why I enjoy writing at work so much, it means I get more quality family time at home. Then only thing is, I attend quite a few conventions, which often take place at weekends, which means early starts, a bit of driving, and a late finish, which eats heavily into my weekends.

If you have written more than one novel, which is your favorite and why?

I really enjoyed/hated putting my short story collection together, because it was a true labor of love. It was all my own work. I can’t wait to do another short story collection.

If you could be one of your own characters for a day, who would it be and why?

I wouldn’t want to be any of my characters, as most of them meet sticky ends.

What is the oddest thing you have ever researched for one of your books?

Somalian curse words.

starers_ebook_cover-copy-2ketchup-front-2

caldera

Leave Your Mark

