An Interview with K.M. Riley

Picture

The Map of Iden & Seqhad

Welcome! I am excited to introduce K.M. Riley, the author of The Spirit: Awakening. K.M., please introduce yourself, and then we will ask a few questions for readers. 

rileyHey! My author name is K.M. Riley, but I simply prefer Riley. To some, I’m a designer and gamer, but above all: a lover of the imagination.

Website

Facebook

Twitter

I would love to talk more about your gaming, but today, we can focus on your writing. When did you start?

I started writing—I mean truly writing—when I was about fourteen. I spent so much time day dreaming about adventures in a world of my imagination that it eventually took to paper.

I love that. What motivates you to write?

The simple and pure bliss it brings me. Writing is my passion, and I don’t get bored of it. When I’m not physically writing, my mind wanders off, partaking in its own adventure. Only a few years after I started scribbling down stories did I discover that my writing could bring that same excitement to others. Every time I’m told someone’s enjoyed my writing, that’s motivation enough to never give it up.  

I can definitely relate to this. What is the most difficult thing you have ever researched for one your books and why?

That would actually be in the story I’m currently writing. I’ll leave that as a surprise for a later time.

Fair enough. So, tell us what genre do you write in and what made you chose this particular genre

Fantasy for Young Adults is my preferred genre, likely because so many books of its ilk have inspired me. I fell in love with Narnia and Lewis’s approachable style. I was amazed by the Inheritance Cycle’s depth without speaking volumes. Fantasy can take a reader to many places, without needing to overburden them.

What is your goal in writing? Do you have dreams where your writing should take you?

My goal in writing is to leave readers feeling satisfied. I write because I enjoy it; I became published because I wanted to share the excitement of my stories and characters with others. I hope to keep writing because their support and anticipation for my works enables me to. That’s all I can really ask for. 

So, here is a question we hear a lot. Do you ever suffer from writer’s block and if yes, how do you deal with it?

Who doesn’t? It’s a condition with no real cure. Everyone has their own methods to deal with it. Sometimes I simply find a quiet corner of the house, tuck myself away and write. One word, one sentence. It doesn’t matter. Eventually you find that rhythm.

Then there’s coffee. Coffee always helps.

Anyone who can speak to the power of coffee deserves to have their book read. Seriously, it should be a law. Seriously though, what advice would you like to give new, hopeful authors?

Write. It’s that easy. Write because it’s your passion, write because it fills you with an energy you can’t explain. Don’t be discouraged, and take criticism in stride. 

Awesome! Lastly, please, tell us about your work.

I’ll leave you with the blurb for The Spirit: Awakening. A fantasy novel for Young Adults.

On her eighteenth birthday, Princess Adele inherited the Kingdom of Iden. Willful, strong, and independent, her life changed when she discovered she’s more than successor–she’s heir to a mysterious power hunted by an evil spirit. Chaos covers her lands, forcing Adele to flee its reach. She journeys to unravel the secrets of her abilities, and defeat the enemy shadowing her.

Thank you for being my guest. It was such a pleasure to have you here!!

Thank you so much!


An Excerpt from The Spirit: Awakening

awakeningcoverAdele lunged for her friend, but the branches of a nearby tree quickly grasped her and lifted her upside-down, high off the woodland floor. Without a moment’s hesitation, she drew her blade and attempted to hack at the limbs that held her captive. The tree creaked and shook her violently. She was forced to let her blade drop to the ground, clutching her side with a moan.

“Calm yourself,” Harper told her.

Adele stilled, struggling to forget the throbbing at her side.

A deep and hollow voice filled the air. “What strangers dare enter into these forbidden woods?”

Adele squinted about and saw no one. The voice asked again, and she caught the general direction from whence it came—only she was completely unsure if she was hearing correctly at all.

“What creature demands answers without showing its face?” Adele called out to no one in particular. She knew it wasn’t the best way to respond to a potential foe, especially when she was the one captive; nevertheless, she took her chances.

The grip that held her by the waist tightened, but, despite the pain, she couldn’t help but take notice of what formed on the tree that detained her.

On its trunk, its knotted and grooved bark slowly took on the form of facial features. In seconds, a nose, mouth, and two unyielding eyes stared back at her. It blinked slowly, splinters falling to the ground. The tree brought the girl closer to its face.

“Another elf? No, no this one is a human I think. Rounded ears…” it droned on as if addressing others around it. Its voice was old and worn, as though it had seen many years in these timeless woods.

“Adele,” Harper whined, “remember those stories the elves told us about spirits deep in these woods? Please tell me they were lying.”

“Elves don’t lie, Harper,” she replied, attempting to wiggle free.


Get Awakening here!

Amazon

Audible

Smashwords

CreateSpace


Reviews:
“Awakening is richly imagined and the definition of a page turner.” — Publisher’s Weekly

Skillfully woven, The Spirit: Awakening is all the things a fantasy reader wants and more.”

–Amazon Customer Review

“The main thing I feel sets this book is the cast of characters. The main protagonist, Adele, is a well developed strong female protagonist and I think that is something lacking in many works of fiction.”
–Amazon Customer Review

“This is an enjoyable fantasy world full of all manner of magical creatures.”
–Amazon Customer Review

“This book is absolutely incredible. Written by a college student at the time, this story is absolutely incredible and masterfully written.”
–Amazon Customer Review

One thought on “An Interview with K.M. Riley

Leave Your Mark

