What’s the deal with fantasy?

SpyKeyOne

I’m in a writing group with a lot of writers, and lovely people, a great many of whom write what is loosely termed as ‘Fantasy’.

I only say ‘loosely’ because it’s a very generic term. Vampires, werewolves, elves, dragons and the ilk. Alternate worlds/realities, magic swords, princes and princes etc etc.

And I thought to myself. Do I really have that much in common with these people?

The answer is yes.

I scanned my DVD and book collections (And comics and graphic novels and, dare I say it, toys) – Lord of the Rings, Blade, Underworld, American Werewolf and, of course, superheroes to name but a few. I could go on and on.

Oops.

So why? What IS the deal with fantasy?

Definition of fantasy in English:

noun (plural fantasies)

[MASS NOUN] The faculty or activity of imagining impossible or improbable things:

Fair enough. – But what’s the fascination?

View original post 81 more words

2 thoughts on “What’s the deal with fantasy?

  1. Don’t make the definition so big it gathers in to many other genres. Blade and Underworld are horror, or perhaps Urban or Dark Fantasy. American Werewolf is horror and that is that. The difference between Horror and Dark Fantasy, for me at least is… With horror most people are killed by the monsters, in Dark Fantasy most of the monsters are killed by the hero/anti-hero.

Leave Your Mark

