To Chapter or Not to Chapter

All This Madness

Over the course of writing the first draft and speaking with several other writers on the subject, I found myself pondering on just how I was going to break up this story once it was fit for human consumption. In my earlier years when I was just a wee lad, I’d always written in chapters right from the start. It only seemed natural to do it that way since all I’d read were books split into chapters. But as I read more, wrote more and improved my craft, I realized that perhaps chapters weren’t the only way I could be doing things.

This became abundantly clear when I started writing The Glass Thief because I’d decided to write the draft using Scrivener for the first time over Word, which has a really handy way of writing and organizing individual scenes for one’s tale. Writing this way felt more natural to…

View original post 121 more words

Leave Your Mark

