Solstice Tour: Jan Marie

Writers READ

By Jan Marie

Being writers we write, write, and write that is our goal. Sometimes though we are so wrapped up in writing that we sometimes forget to read. For a writer reading is just as important as writing in itself. We can learn and better our craft by just reading our favorite book.

Angelic_Confessions_Cover_for_KindleUnorthodox Teachers

Authors are my teachers. Forget some stuffy professor in a classroom. I learned what I know from other authors. Yes I read for entertainment, but I am also learning by studying the authors rhythm and the style of how they write. Everyone has one.

In fact I have learned the art of descriptive narrative from of Stephanie Meyers. No I did not meet her personally I just read her books. I have also learned how to write better dialogue by reading Sherrilyn Kenyon. I learned poetic writing from reading Anne Rice. I even improved my grammar by reading Stephen King! All I did was study each sentence he wrote.

With our words you can be moved to fear or moved to tears. Ask yourself how did your favorite author do that? I DO NOT mean copying the author though. Sadly many fall prey to this, doing it without even knowing it. Don’t try and write LIKE them. Instead see how they write, and take away with a better way to improve your own.


Book Excerpt

I stood at the pools edge taking in a deep breath. I slipped my robe off as it crumpled to my feet. I stepped into the pool wadding toward the falls. I let the showering waters consume me, cleanse me. I then unleashed my wings letting the cleansing waters clean them too. Like wanting to erase a bad memory that I seemed to of forgotten.

“What are you doing?”

Aye and PioI looked behind me to see Pio standing there with my robe. “I needed to bathe,” I said innocently. “You are mad?” I closed my wings up back into my body. He didn’t say anything as he walked towards me, stepping into the water while still fully clothed. He reached me, wrapping his arms around me as he put my robe on.

“I thought I lost you,” he whispered in my ear. My poor Pio; I ached to comfort him. I felt his worry, his fear. I turned to face him, reaching up to caress his face lightly with my fingertips as I had seen human women do to the ones they loved. I wanted to know what it would be like to kiss…to kiss him. I rose up on my toes as I pressed my lips against his. The taste of him was exquisite as I felt him respond parting my lips deepening our kiss, crushing me against him. He then scooped me up in his arms as he carried me into the hidden alcoves behind the water falls. So our love affair began.

Amazon

BN


author shotJan Marie is an establish online article writer. Mostly self trained with only attending one Rock Valley College writing course she first broke into the comic book writing scene where she worked with new independent companies as head script writer. She then moved into freelance writing having been published by various online publishers and also was featured in FATE magazine. She also hosts her own Review business blog site Authors and Angels where she host reviews and interviews of fellow indie authors. She now has written her first fantasy romance novella “Angelic Confessions.”

Author/Book Site

Blog

Amazon

Facebook

Twitter

Pinterest

Goodreads

8 thoughts on “Solstice Tour: Jan Marie

  1. Hi Josh. King’s On Writing is a good starting block for anyone who wants to learn how to write well. I’d also recommend novice writers read The Old Man and the Sea because every word is perfectly placed which, in turn, teaches the reader how to eradicate ropey grammar from their own writing. And yes, never try to emulate the Author because it results in a pastiche.

    I read the novel excerpt and immediately found errors. ‘I seemed to of forgotten’ Should be ‘Have’ Without wishing to seem unkind, I feel Jan Marie could benefit from good editorial advice about how to say more with less words.

    Hope you are well.

      • Hi again. I have been working on my first poetry pamphlet and entering major competitions in the UK.

        How are sales?

        Unfortunately the indie market is swamped with novels which are poorly written, thus masking the handful of good writers out there.

        I was very fortunate to have been taught by novelist Celia Brayfield, now in her mid seventies, and attained 1st class grades in her modules. Prior to achieving my degree, I had potential, but was a substandard writer. Which is why I baulk at bold statements like ‘forget the stuffy professor.’ and then read text by the author full of errors.

      • That is exciting. I can imagine that poetry is equally hard to be noticed within due to the saturation of the market. I think you hit the nail on the head about a handful of good writers being masked. [I know we all would like to be in that category, right? Kind of?]

        You better let me know if you ever find errors in my stuff! 😀

      • Ha, Josh. To become a recognised poet does indeed take dedication and knowing which doors to open. Robert Okaji, a WordPress poet I follow with great interest, chooses to self publish his pamphlets. He is a good poet and I hope gets the recognition he deserves.

        I’ve chosen the formal route of publishing houses and national competitions because this is a sure fire way to open the doors to other things.

        And yes, you are always welcome to my opinion because I have seen examples of your work and you do have potential.

Leave Your Mark

