The Art of Combat – with Joshua Robertson

Thank you for letting me guest post on your blog, Terra! Since I am reblogging this on my site, I want to encourage any readers to check out Terra’s other posts and read the full article on her blog!

Terra Luft - View From the Crystal Ball

Today I have the pleasure of hosting Joshua Robertson, author of the upcoming Melkorka from Crimson Edge Publishing. I asked him to share some writing tips and he was nice enough to oblige. Thanks, and welcome, Joshua!

***

The Art of Combat

In younger years, I always thought that R.A. Salvatore was the master of writing fight scenes. If you have not read his works, I would suggest starting with Homeland, Book 1 of the Dark Elf Trilogy, featuring the legendary Drizzt. This fantasy author presents combat so well that it appeared to naturally flow in his novels in the same way that other storytellers would write about the scenery. When I think of exceptional fighting in novels, I still think of Salvatore.

Those that have read my novels tell me that I share this strength in my writing. If anything, I assume that this comes from years of…

View original post 1,078 more words

Leave Your Mark

