Random Poll, People

It is a gorgeous 35 degrees outside as I begin my Sunday. I have enjoyed multiple cups of joe and I am ready to get back into the swing of spouting words from my fingertips. After 2-3 days without a computer, it is definitely a day that is brimming with creativity.

So…

I am currently in the process of working with a writing group on new fiction project, and I NEED feedback. Currently, we are creating the setting that requires about 7 categories or divisions or groupings. I don’t want to say too much about the project, but I would like advice on how we should name these somethings of something?

How do you categorize when you are naming factions or guilds or groups? 

Give me your ideas people!

 

11 thoughts on “Random Poll, People

      • Thank you. 🙂
        Depending on the project, the streams can be rearranged and/or adapted (e.g. sub-categorised): structures (colours, textures), beings (animals, fictional characters (Earth and/or alien), locations (rivers, mountains, woods), interactions (fight, conference, festivity), emotional stuff, technical stuff, events.
        The possibilities are endless (at least for me, in this case, as I do not know the specifics). Your categories are intriguing – the result will hopefully find its way to one of my e-readers one day.

      • That is exactly the type of jumpstart I needed for my brain, Karen. I am definitely looking for something unique, but concrete enough that people can relate. For me, it is like when I create the main organizations in a fantasy novel. The names have to capture something deeper than the words on paper, so that they leave an imprint on the reader. When categorizing something, I want it to move the reader and stick with them for years to come.

    • Thanks, Winter! So – after suffering through a terrible computer crash – which has resulted me losing in my most updated writings that I haven’t had a chance to transfer – I am recovering and prepping stuff once more.

      I am liking your landmark suggestion…and characteristics… I am going to run with those ideas for a bit.

Leave Your Mark

