His Name

This flesh is full of fury

Masking my pain

Deep stricken pain

And you know

You know everything

And still nothing

For still, you say his name

 

Even if you had not said it

I’d hear it whispered

Softly delivered

Hanging on the dew

An incurable curse

Definitively perverse

Trying to torment me all the same

 

While you’re behind barred doors

I overhear dialogues

Your personal monologues

Repeatedly saying his name

Emotional wounds are bleeding

Brimming, sweltering

Ignore your sobbing

I will forever silence his name.

8 thoughts on “His Name

  1. As always, I am struck by the depth of emotion in your writing. I cannot help, but hear Robert Browning in your closing line and I fill dread as much as the day I read:

    — E’en then would be some stooping; and I choose Never to stoop. Oh, sir, she smiled, no doubt, Whene’er I passed her; but who passed without Much the same smile? This grew; I gave commands; Then all smiles stopped together.

    Well written. Thank you for writing.

Leave Your Mark

