Rough Draft Completed!!!

I have met my deadline and finished writing the book this afternoon, marked around 80,000 words. I imagine there will be some additions and subtractions to the word count when I begin the editing process. I already have a couple areas marked that I know I want to expand upon. I am overjoyed to have completed this novel in month time period. It has been absolutely exhausting but also very rewarding.

I am going to take a break for a couple days before I read through it and edit it. Then, it will be my hope to send it to some potential publishers by February 1st. Crossing my fingers. In the meantime, I will be returning to my short stories and flash fiction writings and possibly submitting a couple of those each day, if I can.

For now, I think it is time for a nap and possibly some ice cream. I will be back on WordPress tonight to catch up with the blogs I have missed over the past couple of days!

32 thoughts on “Rough Draft Completed!!!

  1. Congratulations! I’ve been in your shoes and know how you feel from the excitement to the exhaustion to the hope. I wrote a 70+K novel in a month, “Mine to Tell” and it was picked up by a publisher and is now for sale. Surreal, a lot of work, and worth it! Thanks for visiting my blog, by the way. It brought me here so I could share in your accomplishment!
    Colleen L. Donnelly

    • Before being edited and touched by a publisher [haha], it is about the struggle of man against themselves in a fantasy world of my creation with multiple theological underpinnings. It takes out the usual concepts of good and evil, and simply questions the motivations of men when they have eternity to seek out what they desire.

      • I have been considering Fox Hollow, but I am still scanning the market while I make final touches on the rough draft. I do not have anything else published, but have a children’s book that the illustrations are being completed on currently that should also be done this year. I am not officially published yet, but have 12 other children’s books completed, waiting on illustrations and another fantasy novel that simply needs edited. Thanks for the interest!

      • As I write my book, it is taking me a long time, I’m three years into writing this book, off and on, I scare myself just thinking about the proofreading and editing. Perhaps that is why I am writing at a snail’s pace because the very idea of reading the book to cut parts of it is painful. I am so glad that you are mostly there!

      • I would hope so! The sequel to this book (which I wrote first – don’t ask me why) – I wrote nearly seven complete times and trashed it every time after I was done because I did not like it! Finally time to release these books and move forward!! I hope you find the motivation to complete yours for all of us to read!

Leave Your Mark

