Description and Dialogue

I completed just over a couple thousand words yesterday on the novel. Felt fairly good about it, and wanted to keep writing. But, I knew that I had to get up this morning and be productive for a real world job. I am very excited that the weekend is rapidly approaching and that I can make some extreme progress during that time. However, I am also keenly aware that I will be out of town for work three days next week, which means that I will be away from my computer.

One of the issues I have when writing is trying to balance ample dialogue with description of characters and scenes. When I was a child (like 10-years-old), my stories were full dialogue back and forth. This is to be expected, no doubt. When I look at old writings from my high school career, I would have pages upon pages of descriptions of scenery AND the character’s thoughts AND story backdrop, and nobody would ever say anything. I could easily have full chapters with maybe three lines of dialogue. I know! It was terrible!

I have worked hard through the years to find my own writing style that balances description and dialogue in a way that encapsulates the reader while moving the plotline forward. I found that I have to give the reader more credit when reading a novel, and letting them build off of their own assumptions about some elements of the story. No story is enjoyable if there is not some hint of mystery that propels the reader through the pages. Not only that, but I have also learned that I can generally incorporate what I use to put in description into the dialogue!

I hope that I am not the only writer that had to transition in their writing to learn how to approach description and dialogue. I know it has been a challenge for me!

2 thoughts on “Description and Dialogue

  1. Totally relate! I wrote a couple of blogs about character creation and dialogue, pretending to be some sort of expert, but in reality I am just finding my own flair!

Leave Your Mark

