Putting One Foot In Front of the Other

I recognize that I did not get a blog out yesterday. Life has an uncanny way of slipping away, taking our intentions with it. By and by, I have hopped, skipped and jumped over the two busier days this week (I hope) and I am moving forward as best I can. Life is going to have to get in my backseat for about a week while I do some driving.

I am not sure about the rest of you, but I have a terrible habit of re-reading through chapters after I have finished them, and then wanting make corrections and edit what I have just written. This addictive response towards some ill-formed, perceptual, perfectionist mindset haunts me for days. It goes something like this.

1. I finish a chapter and go to bed.
2. I wake up and reread the chapter to get in the groove of the story. I find that myself reconsidering the direction of the plot or how it is delivered to the reader.
3. I spend the rest of the day reworking the chapter to fix the “mistake” to prepare for the next section of the book. It has to flow, right?!
4. I repeate steps 1 through 3.

I keep telling myself that I should write out the story and worry about the editing after I finish the last sentence, which would include fixing plot holes, details about character characteristics, and so forth. But, somehow – in the moment – I talk myself out of it and find myself editing what should already be complete.

Today, I am going to move forward. I am going to leave what is done in the finished pile. I am going to put one foot in front of the other and get a step closer to completion. In my mind, I will visualize the overwhelming burst of excitement that I will feel in my chest when I finish this novel, followed by rapid-fire hip thrusting. Or maybe just a victory fist pump, if that is your thing.

2 thoughts on “Putting One Foot In Front of the Other

  1. I’m the same way when I write. I have to remove myself from my chair and walk away. If I don’t, I will edit everything I just wrote. This usually results in another editing session of the edit that I just did. It’s a pain.

    Here’s to moving forward! I hope you have the strength to do what constantly kicks my ass.

Leave Your Mark

